How important is your personal data to you?

I don’t know about you but my mobile phone is a very important gadget in my life. I feel lost and incomplete without my cell phone. I have important data, photos, contact information, and even links with saved passwords on my cell phone. I have tons of applications and notes saved on my cell phone. My cell phone sleeps in the bed with me and it is the first thing I check in the morning and the last thing I check at night.

How important is your cell phone to you? And do you take the necessary precautions to protect the information stored on your cellphone? It is vital to remember that all the information on your mobile device is easily accessible.

Most cell phones users do not protect their cell phone privacy.

According to Pew:

• 41% of cell phone owners back up at least the photos, contacts, and other files from their phone.

• 32% have cleared their phone’s Web browsing or search history.

• 30% of all cell phone owners (and 60% of smartphone owners) say they back up the entire contents of their phone (apps, data, files, etc.)

• 19% (especially younger phone owners) have turned off their phone’s location-tracking feature due to concerns that companies or other people might access that information.

These percentages are quite low considering the fact that 88% of U.S. adults own cell phones.

As a consumer it is important to read the Terms & Agreement and privacy policy when downloading apps or any information on your cell phone. It is also vital to ask your mobile providers and application providers questions regarding how your private information will be used.